Orb

Orb

29 April – 27 May
Sydney, Melbourne, Canberra
BOOK NOW - SYDNEY

BOOK NOW - MELBOURNE
BOOK NOW - CANBERRA

Be captured by the extraordinary lunar mystery Orb – a world premiere featuring the latest creation from Artistic Director Rafael Bonachela, and the Company’s first ever collaboration with a Taiwanese choreographer, Cheng Tsung-lung.

Bonachela’s Ocho, meaning eight in Spanishmarks his eighth year with the Company and showcases eight virtuosic dancers. Fusing an industrial dreamscape with a surging electronic score by Nick Wales featuring haunting vocals by Aboriginal singer Rrawun Maymuru of the Mangalili clan, Ocho explores the infinite connections that exist between us all.

Full Moon by Cheng Tsung-lung, the Artistic Director of Taiwan’s phenomenal Cloud Gate 2, completes the double bill. This striking new piece harnesses the power of the moon and the mythology and poetry of mankind to thrill the audience.

“Living in our modern world, the vibrant city lights have endlessly fascinated me and occupied the interspaces of my sight and feelings at night. On the contrary, the moon, nature’s symbolic beauty of night, shines light into my eyes and helps me uncover the mysteries of the unconscious world which I do not know, yet I feel exist.” (Cheng Tsung-lung)

SUBSCRIBE NOW – SAVE 15%

Save 15% on tickets to Orb and 2 One Another and receive a range of benefits including free ticket exchanges and discounts at Sydney Festival, Dinosaur Designs, STC, MCA, Dendy Cinemas, ACO, Wilson Parking and more. Read full benefits here.

Follow #SDCOrb @SydneyDanceCo FacebookInstagram and Twitter.

Return to homepage Return to 2017 Season

悉尼舞蹈团双剧目舞蹈「Orb」将在悉尼进行全球首演,通过舞蹈团艺术总监拉斐尔·伯纳切拉的新作「OCHO」以及台湾编舞家郑宗龙的新作「大明」,向观众展现月之神秘。这也是悉尼舞蹈团首次与亚洲艺术家合作。

舞蹈「大明」由台湾云门2舞蹈团(Cloud Gate 2)艺术总监郑宗龙编导,其在作品中对月之能量、月之神话及诗词进行了融汇糅合,给人带来耳目一新的感觉。

“我的内心深处一直有某种感觉,挥之不去,隐隐作痛,难以言传。我希望能够借由舞蹈,借由月之神话,传达这种感觉。”——郑宗龙

“OCHO”在西班牙语中,意为“八”,标志着拉斐尔·伯纳切拉与悉尼舞蹈团一起走过的第八个年头,也象征了「OCHO」中充满灵性的八位舞者。搭配知名音乐人尼克·威尔斯(Nick Wales)的迷幻电子乐以及曼加利利部落的原住民歌手卢恩·梅姆鲁(Rrawun Maymuru)的绕梁嗓音,「OCHO」所探索的是连接人与人的无限可能。

 

29 April – 13 May
Roslyn Packer Theatre Walsh Bay, Sydney
Subscriptions from $102

Performances
Saturday 29 April, 8pm (Preview)
Monday 1 May, 8pm (Opening Night)
Tuesday 2 May, 6:30pm
Wednesday 3 May, 8pm
Thursday 4 May, 8pm
Friday 5 May, 8pm
Saturday 6 May, 8pm
Tuesday 9 May, 6:30pm
Wednesday 10 May, 8pm
Thursday 11 May, 8pm
Friday 12 May, 12pm (School Matinee)
Friday 12 May, 8pm
Saturday 13 May, 2pm
Saturday 13 May, 8pm

BOOK NOW - SYDNEY

17 – 20 May
Art Centre Melbourne, Melbourne

Performances
Wednesday 17 May, 7.30pm (Opening Night)
Thursday 18 May, 7.30pm
Friday 19 May, 7.30pm
Saturday 20 May, 2pm
Saturday 20 May, 7.30pm

BOOK NOW

25 – 27 May
Canberra Theatre Centre, Canberra

Performances
Thursday 25 May, 7.30pm (Free Pre-Show Artist Talk @ 6.30pm & Opening Night)
Friday 26 May, 7.30pm
Saturday 27 May, 7.30pm

BOOK NOW - CANBERRA

Duration: 90 mins including a 30 min interval

Ocho
Choreographer Rafael Bonachela
Composer Nick Wales
Lighting Damien Cooper
Costumes and sets David Fleischer

Full Moon
Choreographer Cheng Tsung-lung
Composer Lim Giong
Lighting Damien Cooper
Costumes Fan Huaichih

BOOK NOW - SYDNEY

Join us for a free Artist Talk with Rafael Bonachela, the Company dancers and creative team for Orb.

Friday 28 April @ 6.30pm
Roslyn Packer Theatre Walsh Bay, Sydney
FREE EVENT

Win an indulgence package at The Day Spa by Chuan at The Langham.

To enter, simply book your tickets to Orb for Sydney by 21 April and Melbourne of Canberra by 10 May with the code SDCORB.

T&C’s apply.

BOOK NOW - SYDNEY
BOOK NOW - MELBOURNE
BOOK NOW - CANBERRA